• Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Legislative Action Opportunities

 
Interested in engaging with a local campaign? There’s a lot happening in our community, and they need your help. Find what you are passionate about and get involved. 
 
Hoping to tell your story, attend trainings, or advocate for local and state anti-poverty legislation? Fill out this form to get connected. Direct link: http://bit.ly/takeactionMIA
 
 
HEALTH 
 
Closing the Coverage Gap — Contact: Athena Ford, FL CHAIN | athena@flchain.org
Earned Paid Sick Days and Paid Family Leave — Contact: Deborah Dion, SFVWF | dion.deborah@gmail.com
Pesticides in Farms — Contact: Elvira Carvajal, FWAF | fwafhomestead@hotmail.com
Women and Trauma — Contact: Renita Holmes, WAAIVE | holmes_builders@yahoo.com

 

FINANCIAL SECURITY 

 

Wage Theft — Contact: Jeanette Smith, SFIWJ | jeanettemiami@gmail.com
Raising the Minimum Wage — 1Miami | info@onemiaminow.org
Predatory Lending  Contact: Karen Landry, War on Poverty/RAISE FL | klandry@waronpoverty.org
Fight for 15 —  Contact: Ericka Ward, Fight for 15/SEIU | ericka.ward@seiufl.org

 

HOUSING AND TRANSPORTATION 

Housing discrimination —  Contact: LaTonda James, NHSSF | LatondaJ@nhssf.org
Resident displacement and housing —  Contact: Adrian Madriz, MWC | adrian@theworkerscenter.org
Public transportation —  Contact: Marta Viciedo, Urban Impact Lab | marta.viciedo@gmail.com
Unaccompanied minors and homelessness —  Contact: Jorge de la Paz, MCH | jorge@miamihomeless.org
 
EDUCATION AND CRIMINALIZATION 

 

Driver’s License Campaign —  Contact: Francesca Menes, FLIC | francesca@floridaimmigrant.org
Voting rights —  Contact: Jacob Coker-Dukowitz, FNM | jacob@flnewmajority.org
State violence and School to Prison Pipeline —  Contact: Phillip Agnew, Dream Defenders | phillip@dreamdefenders.org
Friends of Broward Detainees —  Contact: Christine Ho, Friends of Broward Detainees | christine.gt.ho@gmail.com

 

Rights Restoration —  Contact: Kevin Spring, Spring4ward | kevin@spring4ward.org
Connecting returning citizens to employers —  Contact: Mariamee Rodriguez | marrodriguez@jud11.flcourts.org